I got a message saying my events are being "throttled." What gives?

Last updated: March 25, 2026

For Honeycomb Free and Honeycomb Pro plans, Honeycomb engages event throttling as a last resort when an account has exceeded its events per month (EPM) limit for two months in a row.

Before reaching this state, Honeycomb automatically emails team owners when their usage seems to be trending toward overage, and again when usage initially exceeds the EPM limit.

You can read more about EPM overages in Honeycomb's usage documentation. (Note: Enterprise customers are exempt from throttling.)

If you find your team in a throttled state, you have options! You may wish to consider a different configuration, employing sampling, or upgrading your Honeycomb plan. You can also remove throttling by keeping your event volume under the daily event target for at least 72 consecutive hours

Note: While upgrading your plan is effective, throttling is automatically removed after 3 consecutive days under the daily event limit. This may take several days if your new event limit still doesn't cover previous months' usage, or if your current event volume remains above the daily target.

Please do reach out to Honeycomb Support if you have any questions; we like to help people avoid this state!